10/5k Run Results

news feature

On Saturday the 9th February we held our annual 10/5k run and walk. This event has grown to become a significant event in our school calendar. In a pleasant morning a huge crowd turned up to provide us with some very competitive racing.

Click here for the full Race Results

Proceeds from the event will go to the Nuevo Horizonte programme in Peru. Nuevo Horizonte is a project started in the town of Chimbote, Peru. Edmund Rice Mission established a presence there two years ago offering academic support, music and dance classes to the community. Public schools offer education at a very low level, and there is little tutoring support at home because parents work long hours and lack the educational background to help.   Thus the need for academic assistance.   The Nuevo Horizonte programme has provided a safe and inclusive environment where children can grow and thrive academically and culturally.

10k Open Male winners

The always competitive 10k male Open race was won by Eoin Hughes from Acorns Athletic club in a blistering time of 33mins 58 secs.

Placing Name Team Category Finish Time Total Pace
1 Eoin Hughes Acorns A.C. Male Open 33:58 3:24/K
2 Eoin Mullan Omagh Harriers Male Open 34:10 3:25/K
3 Pius McIntyre Foyle Valley A.C. Male Open 34:48 3:29/K

10k Open Female winners

Last years runner up, Paula Donnelly, claimed top spot in the female open in a time of 41 mins 22 secs.

CBS 10K female Open winner

Place Name Team Category Finish Time Total Pace
1 Paula Donnelly Female Open 41:22 4:08/K
2 Tara Malone Female Open
3 Kelly O’ Neill Female Open 43:55 4:24/K

CBS 10k female open

5k Male Open Winners

The first three students home in the 5k race where all CBS pupils. Year 12 pupil Tristan Kelly was the first runner to cross the line in a time of 17mins 58 secs.


Place Name Team Category Finish Time Total Pace
1 Tristian Kelly Carmen Runners AC Male Open 17:58 3:36/K
2 Darragh Ward Omagh Harriers Male Open 18:57 3:47/K
3 Sean Hagan Omagh Harriers/CBS Male Open 18:58 3:48/K

5k Female Open Winners

Michelle Donnelly was the first female to cross the line in a time of 20mins 3 secs.

Place Name Team Category Finish Time Total Pace
1 Michelle Donnelly Female Open 20:03 4:01/K
2 Lauren Molloy Omagh Harriers Female Open 20:13 4:03/K
3 Emily McLaughlin Foyle Valley AC Female Open 20:52 4:10/K

Click here to see more photographs taken on the day.

Blog Attachment