Dalton Cup Winners 2022

Dalton team from final news

Omagh CBS 5-12 St.Patricks Academy Dungannon 4-3

Omagh CBS are Dalton Cup winners for 2022 after they produced an outstanding display to get the better of prematch favourites St.Patricks Academy Dungannon at Pearse Park in Galbally on Wednesday evening.

It was a contest that brought together two quality sides and on the evidence of the fare that was on display then the future of Tyrone football is bright indeed. The Academy got off to the best possible start when in the first attack of the game they carved open the Omagh defence for midfielder Cormac Brown to palm to the net from close range. Omagh CBS though didn’t panic and with Diarmuid Martin, Peter Garrity and defender Cathal Farley all weighing in with a brace of points each they turned things around. The Academy were struggling to get their game together but with the last action of the first half Joel Kerr scored a fine individual goal to send the sides in on level terms at the break 0-7 to 2-1.

It was Kerr who opened the second half scoring as well when a speculative shot sailed all the way to the back of the Omagh net. Undaunted by that setback though Omagh CBS rallied and for the remainder of the game they were the better side. Garrity scored two opportunist goals in as many minutes to turn the game on its head and they never looked back.

Daniel McGurren bagged another goal for the winners only for Conan Gormley to respond with a major at the other end of the field. Omagh though continued to grow in stature with Farley adding to their points tally and Padraig Goodman got their fifth and final goal as they deservedly took the silverware.

Omagh CBS scorers: P Garrity 2-3 (2F), D McGurren 1-2, C Farley 0-3, N McGrinder 1-0, P Goodman 1-0, D Martin 0-2, P Colton 0-2

St.Patricks Academy: J Kerr 2-2 (2F), C Brown 1-0, C Gormley 1-0, J McLearnon 0-1 (1F)

Referee: M Loughran

Report courtesy of Kevin Kelly TeamTalkMag

Blog Attachment