AS Prizegiving


School connections hard to break

 Sean O’Neill, former student and founder of highly successful Teamwear Specialist MFC, returned to the school on Friday 2nd February to present our Year 13 students with their GCSE certificates.

Awards were also presented to the Year 14 students that achieved the top mark in each AS subject.

Sean O’Neill is pictured with school Principal Mr F.McConnell and Mr D.Maginness Head of Post 16.

Sean, a MacRory cup winner in 2005, began his speech by stipulating that the connections forged through winning with the school are hard to break.

Since his departure, almost 20 years ago, Sean highlighted three key learnings which stand him well today;

  1. Commitment to routine
  2. Reading in the morning
  3. Commitment to exercise

He emphasised the importance of being associated with the school and how school was a “two-way street – show respect to your fellow pupils and staff and that respect will be reciprocated. People in Omagh CBS will get behind you”. He continued by saying “you are in a place that wins – you are in an environment that wants the best from you and extracts the best from you”.

For his parting advice he posed himself the question – What advice would I have wanted as a 16-18 year old student?

He answered this question eloquently by stating; “We must all suffer from one of two pains: the pain of discipline or the pain of regret.

Discipline is small positive actions repeated every day. Regret is feeling sad or disappointed over something that one has done or failed to do.

The difference is discipline weighs ounces while regret weighs tonnes. You students, before me, get to choose which pain to avoid.”

Once again our students achieved an outstanding set of results, which is testimony to their hard work and the expertise of their subject teachers.

The award recipients are listed below

O’Donnell Scholarship

Top achievers at GCSE: Awarded for Top Achievement at GCSE Level

Brian Gallagher

Principals Medal

Awarded for Outstanding Achievement at GCSE Level

Eoin Donnelly &  Sé Devlin

Top student(s) in each Subject at GCSE Level

Agriculture and Land Use Systems Aidan McNulty
Art and Design Senan McGuckin
Business and Communication Systems Caolán Logue
Business Studies, Digital Technology Multimedia, Geography & Science (Double Award) Brian Gallagher
Computer Science Gareth Owens
Construction & Technology and Design Finn Kelly
Drama Órán Ó Doibhilin
Engineering Aidan McDowell
English Language Eoin Donnelly
English Literature Rory Dolan
History & Religious Studies & Sport Leon McClean
Irish Luke O’Kane
Learning for Life and Work Jack Kennedy
Mathematics Sé Devlin
  Eoin Donnelly
  Brian Gallagher
  Michael Murphy
  Gareth Owens
Mathematics (Further) Michael Murphy
Music Aidan Hackett
Spanish Eoghan McKenna

Top Student in each subject at AS Level

Art Oran Bradley
Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics Conor McKenna
Business Studies Aidan Gormley
Design and Technology James Bunting
Digital Technology Ryan Garrity
English Literature Ronan McGuigan
Environmental Technology Jack McCrory
Further Maths & Software Systems Development Oran McKiernan
Geography & BTEC Construction (Single Award) Aaron Furey
History Oisin McCloskey & Liam McGurren
Life and Health Science Tom Papakyriacou-Gavin
Religious Studies Joseph Mullan
BTEC Diploma in Construction Double Award Mark Corcoran
BTEC Business


Conor McWilliams

Conor Pritchard

ICT Cambridge Technical


Wiktor Paplinski

Nathan McGlinchey.

BTEC Sport (Single Award)


Ronan Falconer
BTEC Sport (Double Award) Sean Broderick

Our talented musicians who provided the entertainment

Click here to access a range of photographs taken at the ceremony

Blog Attachment