John Paul II Award Recipients

john paul news

On Tuesday 7th February 29 students travelled to the Millennium Forum in Derry to receive their John Paul II Gold Awards.

CBS Omagh

Students are pictured with the Archbishop of Glasgow Philip Tartaglia, Bishop of Derry Donal Mc Keown and Link teachers Mrs Darcy and Mrs Mc Crory.


The Pope John Paul II Award enables participants to take an active part in the life of their Church – in the life of their community and society. It enables young people become more aware of the teaching and role of the Catholic Church in the world and to engage at a deep level with Christ.

The Award was created to commemorate the late Pope John Paul II who was so committed to young people and who had such belief and confidence in them.

The Award is committed to helping young people enhance their spiritual, physical, emotional and social development through participation in school, parish and community activities. As well as the feeling of personal achievement that a participant will gain from taking part in the Award, participation will help demonstrate the young person’s commitment to a task and goal.

Who is the Award for?

The Pope John Paul II Award is for anyone between the age of 16 and 18. The Award is run by the Diocese and is suitable for:

Students in Year 13 in Northern Ireland

Students in 4th Year in Republic of Ireland

Students in full-time education who have completed GCSEs or Junior Certificate

Students in Transition Year

Anyone between the age of 16 and 18, not in post-primary education

The Award is non-competitive, flexible and voluntary and requires an ongoing commitment. Awards are earned by taking part in parish and social activities – 1 hour per week over 8, 14 or 20 weeks. There are 3 Awards – Gold, Silver & Bronze. Those that have completed the Gold Award have a further option of completing the Papal Cross Award.


Our worthy recipients are as follows;

1 Matthew Mc Hugh

2 Charlie Geroni

3 Jude Glackin

4 Conan Byrne

5 James Campbell

6 Oisin Mac Salaigh

7Sean Donnelly

8 Jamie Smithson

9 Peter Bradley

10 Eoin Bradley

11 Jamie Hegarty

12 Conor Mc Gread

13 Patrick McCrystal

14 Johnathan Connolly

15 Ronan Smithson

16 Eoin Byrne

17 Davog Mc CAffrey

18 Paul O kane

19 Pauric Mullan

20 Niall Mc Nulty

21 Liam Mc Govern

22 Ruairi Winters

23 Darragh Grimes

24 Paul Mc Kernaghan

25 Peter Bradley

26 Christopher Mc Gettigan

27 Oisin Donnelly

28 Darren Hagan

29 Lee McSorley


Well done to all the boys involved and to their teachers.


Blog Attachment