Senior Prizegiving 2019


GCSE Award Winners

Special Academic Awards

 O’Donnell Scholarship

Awarded for Top Achievement at GCSE Level

Conor McCaughey: 6A* and 5A

Principal’s Medal

Awarded for Outstanding Achievement at GCSE Level

Rian Furey: 7A* and 3A


Donal Kelly: 4A* and 6A


Niall McEvoy:  3A*, 6A and 1B


Excellent Achievement at GCSE

Achieved 9 A Grades or better at GCSE

Michael McDonnell Caolán McGinty Mark McQuaid
Edward Corry Ciarán McManus

Achieved at least 7 A Grades at GCSE

Kamil Biegaj

Cathal Bradley

Adam Brophy

Eóin Deery

Sean Devine

Luke Devlin

Daniel Kelly

Sean Kelly

James Kerr

Connor McCaffrey

Conor McIvor

Sean Monan

Aaron O’Hagan

Joseph Owens

Michael Stolberger


Outstanding Achievement in Year 11

Ronan Cassidy

Paul Furey

Ryan McCrystal

Ruairi McLaughlin

Turlough Mullin


David Quinn

Darragh Rice



 Best Student in Each Subject at GCSE



Agriculture & Land Use Tom McGrath
 Art & Design Daniel Kelly
Business and Communication Systems Caolan McGinty
Business Studies Conor McCaughey
Computing Michael McDonnell
Construction Caolan McGinty

Shane McGirr

Design & Technology Oisin Murphy
Engineering Eoin Deery
English Language Ciarán McManus
English Literature Rian Furey
Geography Donal Kelly
History Rian Furey
Hospitality Cathal McGurgan
Information & Communication Technology Ronan Quinn
Irish Conor McCaughey
Learning for Life & Work (LLW) Eoin Deery


Cathal Bradley

Adam Brophy

Edward Corry

Rian Furey

Donal Kelly

Oisin Kelly

Sean Kelly

Conor McCaughey

Conor McMullan

Sean Monan

Michael Stolberger

Mathematics (Further) Donal Kelly


Patrick McCabe

Sean Monan

Performing Arts Sean Devine
Religious Studies


Adam Brophy

Rian Furey

Mark McQuaid

Science (Double Award) Conor McCaughey
Spanish Aidan Winters
Sport Gareth Donaghy

Best Students in Northern Ireland at GCSE Summer 2018

GCSE Engineering: Conall Rice

Post 16 Level Award Winners

Special Academic Awards

Br Begley Memorial Medal

Br Begley was Headmaster 1976 to 1980.

Awarded for Top Achievement at A-Level

Aidan Kelly 4A* Lorcán McBride 4A* Shea Mullan 4A* Thomas Quinn 4A*

 Br Nolan Memorial Medal

Br Nolan was Headmaster 1980 to 1986

Awarded for Outstanding Achievement at A-Level

Edward Cassidy 3A* and 1A Sean Corry 3A* and 1A Niall Canavan 2A* and 2A

 Roddy Tierney Award

Roddy Tierney was Headmaster from 1993 to 2005

Awarded for Excellent Achievement at A-Level

Éamann Donnelly 4A


Cathal Colton 3 Distinction*


Antoin Fox Distinction*


Joshua Harpur Distinction*


Ross Slevin Distinction*



Principal’s Award for A-Level Achievement

Pupils who achieved at least 3 A Grades or equivalent at A-Level

Cathal Askin

Charlie Devine

James Kelly

Aodhán McCaughey

Ronan McGrath

Malachy McManus

John McSorley

Anton O’Neill

Patrick Pearson

Sean White


Outstanding Achievement at AS Level

Pupils who achieved at least 4 A grades in their AS Level examinations

David Corry

Oisin Corry

Rory Donnelly

Finn Grimes

Daniel McGuigan

Conall Rice


Excellent Achievement at AS Level

Pupils who achieved at least 3 A grades in their AS Level examinations

Eoin Connolly

Eoin Corry

Stephen McNally

Mark Mills

Conor O’Kane



Best Student in Each Subject at A-Level

Agriculture Award

Agriculture: Cathal Askin


H.M.D. Architects Award

Art and Design: Aaron McRory


Michael Grimes Award

Biology: Aidan Kelly & Lorcán McBride


McAleer, Mullan & Jackson Award

Business Studies: Malachy McManus


Bradley Pharmacy Award & Bursary

Chemistry Award: Sean Corry & Aidan Kelly


McCallion Award

Construction (Diploma): Aidan Gillespie


Construction Award

Construction (Subsidiary Diploma): Ross Slevin


Telestack Ltd Award

Design & Technology: Niall Canavan


Digital Technology Award

Digital Technology: Ronan McGrath


Engineering Award

Engineering : Aaron Gormley


First Trust Bank Award

English Literature: Sean-Patrick Mulryan


Peter Passmore Award

Geography: James Kelly


Government and Politics Award

Government and Politics: Aodhán McCaughey


Brother Newell Award & Mr Cormac McAleer Bursary

History: Aodhán McCaughey


Dell I.C.T. Award

Cambridge IT Technical : Charlie Devine


Journalism Award

Journalism : Manus Devine


PricewaterhouseCoopers Award

Mathematics : Ronan McGrath


Further Mathematics Award

Further Mathematics : Shea Mullan


Laird Design Award

Media Studies :Sean-Patrick Mulryan


Brother O’Shea Award

Physics: Aidan Kelly


Professional Business Services Award

Professional Business Services: Aodhán McConnell


Psychology Award

Psychology: Jake Donnelly


Mount St. Columba Award

Religious Studies.: James Kelly


Software Systems Development Award

Software Systems Development: Niall Canavan


Credit Union Award

Spanish: Sean Corry


O’Neill’s Sport Award

Sports Studies (Subsidiary Diploma): Liam Gray

Sports Studies (Diploma): Andrew Allen &  Ross Slevin


Best Students in Northern Ireland at A-Level Summer 2018

A-Level Biology:  Fionán McBride


Sporting Awards



Year 8 McGrath Cup

Adrian McGurren

Nannery Cup

Adam O’Boyle

D’Alton Cup

Nathan Farry

Corn na nÓg

Caolan O’Hagan

Conor Owens

Brock Cup

Sean O’Donnell

Rannafast Cup

Ciaran Daly

MacRory Cup – Laird’s Jewellers Award

Cormac McBride



John McSorley


Jack Darcy



Winner of the Conall McCrory Memorial Trophy

Thomas Quinn


Brian Campbell


Brother Ennis Award

For Contribution to Sport in School

Antoin Fox and Lorcán McBride


The Spirit of Enda Dolan Award

Omagh CBS 5Km Winner – Tristan Kelly

Omagh CBS 10Km Winner – Sean Diamond



Blaine Lynch


Ulster Schools All-Star Football Award

Mark Hayes


Attendance Awards


Outstanding Attendance Over 7 Years (Over 98%)

 Eamann Donnelly

Lorcán McBride

Ronan McCaffrey

Aodhán McCaughey

Tom McClements

Joseph McCloskey

Oran McGrath

Ronan McGrath

Patrick Pearson

Sean White



School & Community Awards


Blessed Edmund Rice Trophy

Presented by Omagh District Council

Edmund Rice Summer Camp Co-ordinator:

Sean White


Arts Endeavour Award

Public Speaking

Edward Cassidy, Sean Corry and Lorcán McBride


Department for the Economy

Young Enterprise Group:

Ben Dolan (Managing Director)

Roddy O’Connor Shield

YPI Winners:

MS Society

Fionan Gallagher, Mark Mills, Mark Owens and Owen Sweeney


Crest Gold Award

Sentinus Team R&D:

Niall Canavan, Luke Higgins, Ronan Hollywood and Anton O’Neill


Christian Brothers’ Cup

Post-16 Music Students:

Conor Boyle, Edward Cassidy, Aidan Kelly, Matthew McAnea, Ronan McCaffrey and Niall McCrystal

Past Pupils’ Award

Conor Bradley


Bishop Daly Shield

For Contribution to the Community

Peter Thompson

Click here to access images from the event

Blog Attachment